Monday

Peanut is home from school today. She has a cold or something going on and hasn’t slept well all weekend. It could either be two things, a cold or allergies. She has been a pretty healthy kid and I was pretty lucky that she wasn’t a sickly baby. Being around other kids is building up her immune system and so I understand she is going to get sick and shes going to be miserable. But she also is dehydrated and even though she wanted to stay at school today I felt that it would be better that she spend the day at home with me and get lots of fluids. Of course today was picture day so we had to go this morning. Couldn’t miss that and she wasn’t coughing or sneezing on anybody. She didn’t have a temp or anything so I’m leaning more towards thinking its allergies. I think it might have been some autumn themed smelly candles I bought from Ikea on Friday. Which they are now put away to test my theory.
I actually have a versatile FO to show.

Photobucket

or this way

Photobucket
Neck-warmers seem to be a popular project going around. I searched on ravelry and found a few patterns to try. I ended up trying this pattern. I only had one ball of tahki baby and the yo weren’t looking to good with the bulkiness of the yarn. So I decided to use some of the pattern like the garter stitch edges but fill the in-between stitches with my own pattern. I also decided to add buttons on the edge instead of seaming it together. However there are no button holes. the buttons can be just slipped through the edge stitches or just about anywhere in the neck-warmer so that i can fold it any way I want. So instead just having a loop it can be triangle shaped like this.  (Just an example from ravelry of another pattern I really wanted to use.)
the buttons were also sewn right onto the cast of edge so that I could have either side of the knitting showing. Very versatile, quick, and easy.

Pattern I used:
US 17 needles
1 ball of tahki baby

Cast on 15 stitches.
First row knit first stitch but every row after first stitch will be slipped.
Row 1: Sl 1, K4, P1, K3, P1, K5
Row 2: Sl 1, K2, *p1,K1* repeat 3 times , P1, K3
Work until desired length and then cast off and sew buttons on the end. Make sure buttons will slip through stitches easily but not too easily.

I’ve already been wearing it around the house to try it out and it is cozy. Peanut has also requested one in yellow, her favorite color.

While watching Ironman I made progress on this scarf.

Photobucket

This is the third pattern try with this yarn. The pattern is Yo Drop It from S&B Nation. Very simple and seems to be working out nicely. I think I might have enough yanr to change the edge on the ends to something a little more decrotive like a scalloped edge or something.

1 Response to “Monday”


  1. 1 amandacathleen October 29, 2008 at 1:30 am

    hope peanut is feeling better! My darling children shared some lovely cold germs with me. I hope to get over it soon! Lovely cowl, great texture to it!


Leave a Reply

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
sniff yarn

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

luv knit
Ravelry
Petite Purls
knotions

  • 1,895 hits

